Two weeks - Reisverslag uit Gandia, Spanje van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Two weeks - Reisverslag uit Gandia, Spanje van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Two weeks

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

02 Maart 2013 | Spanje, Gandia

Two weeks in Spain. Two weeks in a hotel. Two weeks of intensive classes, assignments, and lots of presentations. Two weeks being surrounded by 40 students with 20 different nationalities. Having breakfast, class, lunch, class, dinner, and work together, non-stop. Two weeks of bonding on a high international level. Two weeks that felt like two months.

Two weeks ago, the majority of the people were total strangers of each other. Today, people were crying while saying goodbye. How did we get so attached to each other? Is it the intensive teamwork? Is it the classes we have had together? Is it the chats at the coffee breaks we have had twice a day together? Is it the stress we all had to deal with? Is it the three meals per day we have had together? Is it the wine we drank each night? Is it the walk from the hotel to the university and back we walked together twice a day? Is it the evenings we all spent in the hotel lobby working together? Or is it the shared experience of hard work, with an occasional glass of wine, while discovering each other’s cultures?

All I can say is that I just had another amazing, unforgettable, international experience. Honestly, I did not think that 1) I would ever get a similar experience like I have had in the U.S. three years ago, and that 2) this ‘WOP-P Winterschool’ would include such interesting classes, great teamwork, so much wine, and most of all; getting attached to this many international people. The people that invented this European-Mundus Winterschool are geniuses. I got to be with my French friends, while meeting my friends from Italy again, while getting to know the other students from the other European universities and while getting to know people from Canada, the US, and Brazil. How enriching is this? On top of that, two of the guest teachers were Dutch. After having studied abroad for a year and a half now it felt really good to speak my mother language with a teacher and to experience a ‘Dutch way of teaching’ again. So it felt like I had it all in Gandia.

Two weeks of very interesting classes in which I have learned a lot, two weeks of many interesting and funny conversations with many different people from many different countries. I never want to forget this experience.

Thanks to the amazing people that I got to meet for all the good conversations we have had, all the jokes we have made, and mostly for all the wonderful moments we have shared together! I do not think I have ever laughed this much for two weeks in a row. Not a single day passed by without an outburst of laughter.

And a special thanks to my amazing team; I will think about Daniela every Thursday, about Dan whenever I see a beaver, and about Lauma whenever I will eat a banana ;). It was great working with the three of them. We started working virtually as total strangers and we ended up working face-to-face as good friends.

I am very sad that these two amazing weeks are over now but I am very happy that I got to experience all this with such excellent people around me. I hope to see everybody again one day in the future!

  • 02 Maart 2013 - 21:33

    Philippe:

    Really great story! Such a great experience! Im really happy for you!
    Dikke kus

  • 02 Maart 2013 - 22:00

    Laura:

    Hi Mellie,

    I'm also very happy for you that you have this new experience. I can imagine that it's sad that it's over already, but you have again such good memories to think back.

    -xxx-

  • 02 Maart 2013 - 22:07

    Sara Pereira:

    HEY!!(I just met you...)

    I'm such a mess with aaaaall these feelings! Loved the experience as well! I'm sooooo HAPPY to share this experience with you <3 you're my girl, girl! :'D

    p.s. How come I am in NONE of your 28 pictures? -.-

  • 02 Maart 2013 - 22:34

    Soledad:

    Hi my sweet girl,

    Your story was interesting. I am very happy and proud of you. <3
    You and your co-students really worked hard in 2 weeks. It was nice to know that all of you got along together with happiness. Wish you all the best in your entire life. Love you.

  • 03 Maart 2013 - 11:43

    Vader:

    Great story Mel, great experience. In the picture we saw after one week, I could tell already that there was a lot of 'chemistry' in your group. Sometimes it is like that, and that feels so good!
    Remember these moments and treasure them.
    And for sure: there will be more of these moments in your life!
    Your Dad

  • 04 Maart 2013 - 11:28

    Nihayra:

    Hey Mel,

    Wat goed zeg! Zo blij voor je...Heb je weer energie om verder te gaan!
    Geniet van de mooie en intensieve momenten.

    Kus,
    Nihayra

  • 09 Maart 2013 - 11:13

    Daniela:

    Hey Mel!
    You are totally right, it was really a great experience!
    I hope you are doing fine and wish you luck for your internship.
    Talk to you on TARSDAY ;)

    Big hug,
    Daniela

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 584
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57324

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: