Overwhelming, pleasant, and exciting - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Overwhelming, pleasant, and exciting - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Overwhelming, pleasant, and exciting

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

03 Augustus 2011 | Frankrijk, Parijs

Sometimes, when you have just experienced something amazing, you would love to find a similar experience again. And sometimes, when you start to like someone, you would love to start a relationship with that person. And sometimes, when home does not feel that much like home anymore, you are thinking that all the above can be combined into a new, exciting adventure.
And that is how I ended up in Paris today.

I knew that I was challenging myself with the language, and I have to admit: a challenge it is! At first I was really surprised how well I could understand Philippe and his family. But everytime when I am trying to speak Philippe does not understand me because I am missing the linking (and most important) words in my sentences..:( But! This girl does not give up that easily, so Philippe will have to deal with his vague-french-speaking-girlfriend. And I am sure that we both will improve a lot; he will improve in guessing what I am trying to say and I might improve my French ;).

Well, apart from my very private lessons of my native speaking boyfriend, I am actually taking classes at a real school too. Every afternoon I am in a very small, very hot, but very instructive classroom to learn all the ins and outs of this French language. Which is a lot of fun because listening to French teachers is a lot easier than listening to random people in the street who are rattling like crazy. I am taking different types of classes, like thematic, oral, phonetics and reinforcing classes.
In every class there are new things that I am learning. Not only me, there are many other people from countries like Spain, Italy, Mexico, the U.S., Australia, etc. and it is especially a lot of fun to hear all these different accents in French ;). Also, for the readers who have seen the t.v. serie Friends and remember Joey speaking French: there are people in my class that almost speak like him! For the people who do not know what I am talking about, you should watch this video: http://youtu.be/DqwzvtjeYBQ.

Furthermore, of course I am not only taking classes and I am not studying 24/7 ;). Actually, I started my little adventure with an awesome vacation in the south of France! Philippe’s family has a house in Aix-en-Provence and we spent five days there. I had never been there and I was amazed by the beauty of this part of France! Also, it was really nice to have some relaxing time after all the stress I had of finishing my life in Amsterdam:).

In short, I started my new life in France very good and I am mostly very happy to finally being closer to Philippe. And by being closer, I mean that we are an hour away from each other. Because I am recently living with my host family and I am going to stay here during my French classes. This way I am closer to my school and I might speak a little bit more French with my host lady.

I did not see that much of Paris yet, but everytime when I am walking through this city I have the same exciting feeling as I always had in Amsterdam and Atlanta. And this is just the beginning…

  • 03 Augustus 2011 - 21:41

    Bernadette:

    Wow Mellie! What a nice and lovely story!!! I'm sure you will learn the French language eventually ;)
    Good luck with studying! And most of all keep enjoying all the good things!!!
    Looking forward to the next exciting story!!! Big kisses!!!

  • 03 Augustus 2011 - 23:08

    Nihayra:

    Hey Mel!
    Je klinkt heel erg enthousiast, zo leuk om dit te lezen. Geniet ervan and have a lot of fun. Enjoy life!

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 06:47

    Nicole:

    Hehe eindelijk een verhaal! hahaha. Goed om te horen dat je je nu al zo vermaakt, het kan alleen maar beter worden naarmate je meer gewend raakt en straks natuurlijk in het Frans meeratelt met alle locals. Mocht je na al je zelfstudie wel al beginnen in een hoger niveau bij die school? Bonne chance! bisous

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 10:47

    Soledad:

    Many thanks for your interesting story about your life my dear..sweet..kind..loving..caring..gorgeous...girl. I like your story.Time will come your French will be fluent. You have feeling with language so u will learn so easily. I know you well, if you want something, you will do your best to reach your goal. I am happy and proud of you my girl. Wish you a lot of luck and always take care. Bisous.


  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 12:08

    Wil Van Woerkom:

    Mel!
    Je bent het 'schrijven' nog niet verleerd!
    Mooi verhaal weer hoor; dank je!
    Hou je haaks, je vader

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 12:10

    Céline:

    OMG I love it!!!! especially Philippe's improvements in guessing what you try to say !!! i'm looking forward hearing you speaking French and using ' c'est chouette' ^^ !!! see u very soon

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 12:12

    Manon!:

    Mel! Wat fijn weer even een update, want ik was erg benieuwd! Leuk geschreven ook!! :) Ik ga je snel terug mailen hoor!! xx

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 19:17

    Laura:

    Hi Mellie!

    Zit ik eerst zo te zeuren wanneer je weer eens komt met je mooie 'reis'verhalen, laat ik zo lang niets van me horen ;). Je hebt weer goed je best gedaan, leuk om te lezen :D. Fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt. Geniet er lekker van! En ik kijk uit naar je volgende verslag.

    Dikke kus, Laura (en ook van Jar en Bas)

  • 05 Augustus 2011 - 06:42

    Rachel:

    Wat een super mooi verhaal lieve Mel! Ik werd er helemaal blij van! dikke kus! x

  • 05 Augustus 2011 - 09:45

    Philippe:

    I must say that I'm amazed by your improvements in French these days! Celiiiiine next you'll see her she'll be fluent :P!!!

  • 05 Augustus 2011 - 11:08

    Celine:

    I hope so !!!! train her very hard ;)

  • 06 Augustus 2011 - 13:23

    Emma!:

    Mellie! That sounds amazing schatje! :) Wat leuk, klinkt helemaal goed :) En trouwens, je hebt het over Frans, maar wat is jouw Engels goed zeg!! I'm impressed ;)! Nou babe, enjoy en dikke kus uit Indo!

  • 06 Augustus 2011 - 14:17

    Margit!! :

    Daar zit je dan!!!! Hoe cool Mel! Natuurlijk heb ik dit verhaaltje al lang gelezen... Maar hier mijn reactie! Wat een onwijs fijn verhaaltje zeg!! (Kijk nu al uit naar de volgende). En wat een lieve reactie van Philippe! Heb je ons boekje al uit? Dikke kus

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 159
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57349

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: