Everything must have a beginning - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Everything must have a beginning - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Everything must have a beginning

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

22 September 2011 | Frankrijk, Parijs

In life, there are many first’s. And sometimes, when a person is a little bit insecure and often attached to her usual environment, those first’s can be very scary. You have read about my first days with my host lady, and about my first days at my language school. Now it is time for my first days living with my boyfriend and about my very first day at the university of Paris.

My last week at the language school was of course the best week ever. I did not want to leave that school anymore, because I finally felt safe over there. All the teachers knew my level of French and their classes were perfectly adjusted to my level. All the students in my class had that same level so we all felt comfortable together. But unfortunately I had to say goodbye to everybody and I have to go to a real university. A university where the teachers do not know that I am still not fluent in French and where the students are (fluent in) French.. Fortunately I can still, somehow, be excited about it because I am simply very excited about my master program. It is exactly what I want. Furthermore, in Atlanta I already experienced that everybody is willing to help an international student and luckily that is the same in Paris. The first meeting went well and I am still looking forward to these two years. It is also possible to take French classes at the university so I can keep improving that too. So far, I am not worried yet ;).

While I was less excited about the switch from the language school to the university, I was more excited about the switch from my host’s appartment to my appartment with Philippe. This is only my second week here but so far it is a lot of fun. Sometimes it is still weird to realize that we have been struggling with our skype conversations for six months and that now we are in the same house every day. We are enjoying it very much. And slowly we are getting used to speak more and more French so that is a good practice for me too.

Furthermore, I have had my very first Dutch visitor this week! My dear friend Rachel came over for a long weekend and we have had a lot of fun together. I tried to show her the beauty of Paris while we had all the time to catch up. It felt good to have a familiar friend with me.

At last, a few facts about my master. The second semester of this first year (which will start in March) I will go abroad (yes, again). I do not know to which city I will go to yet. I will come back to Paris in July. In the second year I will go (close) to Valencia for two weeks to meet all the other students (who are studying the same master in Valencia, Barcelona, Bologna, and Coimbra). And the most exciting fact is that I will have a little vacation during the whole month of February! It would be good to work during that month but it would also be good to go back home. So if anybody has a temporary job for me in the Netherlands; call me!;)

  • 22 September 2011 - 09:05

    Celiiiiiiiiiiiiiine :

    haha so cool !!!! and i like the pic with Anja !!!!!

  • 22 September 2011 - 10:37

    Nihayra:

    Klinkt alsof je zoveel nieuwe ervaringen krijgt! Leuk om te lezen. Ik zou zeggen, blijf genieten!

    X

  • 22 September 2011 - 13:15

    Rita:

    hoi Mel was er toevallig weer vlug bij.
    Zo te lezen gaat het prima met je. Hoop voor je op de Uni ook met de les. Lekkere bank hebben jullie. Tot de volgende keer. XXX

  • 22 September 2011 - 14:02

    Manon!:

    You go girl!! Super stoer hoe je dit allemaal doet, ben trots op je lieve Mellie! Hoop dat ik ook snel jullie paleisje kan komen bewonderen, ben heeeel benieuwd :) Succes met je eerste colleges! Liefs xx

  • 22 September 2011 - 14:05

    Marieke:

    Februari? O ja hoor! Opdrachtgevers Lina +? zitten klaar!! :-D XXX

  • 23 September 2011 - 05:33

    Laura:

    Hi Mellie,

    Echt heel fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt :). Als je even niet op Lina + ? kunt passen, mag je mijn huis schoon komen maken, haha. Grapje hoor. Ik hoop dat je gewoon even lekker vakantie kunt vieren bij ons :).

    Dikke kus!

  • 24 September 2011 - 09:35

    Martine:

    Leuk mellie!! Super goed om te horen dat je je draai een beetje vindt! Geniet en blijf je verwonderen! Bedankt nog voor de site! :D altijd leuk inspi-materiaal! XX

  • 24 September 2011 - 11:43

    Emma:

    Klinkt allemaal zo indrukwekkend Mel! En ik vind het enorm stoer dat je lessen in het Frans volgt, écht heel stoer! Zet m op!! xxx em

  • 25 September 2011 - 11:50

    Soledad:

    Hi my youngest...girl...Wish you all the best. Time will come your French will be fluent. It's nice that you are going home for 1 month. Philippe is your good supporter to speak French. Nice that your friend came to visit you. Two weeks from now your dad and I will visit you and take the half of your personal belongings. I hope someone in Holland will offer you a job if you come here for 1 month.
    God Bless!

  • 26 September 2011 - 15:58

    Raach:

    Lieve mel, ook jij hebt weer een prachtverhaal! Ik vond het weekend echt heerlijk, ben nog steeds aan het nagenieten! En leuke foto's!! Die ene van mij op de brug had ik nog niet gezien. Studeer se en geniet se en werken aan de 'bank of fame' he?!;) kus xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57347

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: