A whole new world - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu A whole new world - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

A whole new world

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

19 Oktober 2011 | Frankrijk, Parijs

When you start a different life, in a different country, with a different culture, you should not be surprised to experience some differences. After the Netherlands-United States experience you would think that studying abroad in Europe would have less big differences. Wrong. It seems that the Netherlands is more similar to the U.S. than it is to France. Or maybe the people in the U.S. are happier to receive international people in their environment than French people are. Or maybe it is really about time that I am going to speak French… Because I have to admit that I have had some resistance against the language because of the attitude of the people here. Despite the fact that I am mostly surrounded by nice people, with whom I can speak English, there are still many people who do not leave me a choice and who are forcing me to speak French. And if there is one thing that you should not do to Melanie, is to force her. She needs to have choices. So this has been quite an obstacle in my French-learning-process. A pity, but true.

Furthermore, it is funny that I compared my university in the U.S. with our Dutch high school system. I am going to do the same with my French university. If you would put the ‘high school aspects’ of Agnes Scott together with the ‘high school aspects’ of Paris Descartes you could easily form a real Dutch high school. It is interesting to see how every country is developing their students on their own way. For example, I am having 8 classes this semester and in Amsterdam I only had 2 or 3 classes at the same time. I am having 6 to 8 hours of class a day while in Amsterdam I mostly had 2 to 4 hours of class a day. I am having all my classes with the exact same students while in Amsterdam every student was following their own program. I could continue but I guess you are getting me; life as a student is completely different over here. And for the people who remember one of my prior blogs; people need time to get used to change! So I am still in my phase of shock, denial and retreat…
It is not easy but I keep fighting. I am still convinced that it is worth it because 1) despite the amount of work I still like my master, 2) I still like my boyfriend :), 3) I did make nice new friends and 4) there are still times when I do enjoy being in France and most importantly, being in Paris.

Unfortunately, my I-do-not-want-to-speak-French phase is not really helping me with my studies since all my classes are in French. So something will have to change and it has to change quickly. I do understand most of my classes pretty well but I still do not understand everything. Right now I am trying to speak more at the university because I have to work in groups a lot and I do not want to force them to speak English. Like my dad would say: The things that you do not like, you should not do to someone else / Wat gij niet wilt dat u geschiedt, doe dat ook een ander niet:P.

I am still motivated to work hard and to do my very best at this master. I am just happy that I arrived two months before my master begun because I am not seeing that much of Paris these days.. Except that I see the Eiffel Tower every day when I cross the Seine by bike.







Oh talking about my bike. I would almost forget to talk about the visit of the month! Two weeks ago we received very special guests; my parents came for a weekend. They brought all the rest of my stuff, like my bed, many boxes and … a new bike!! They made me very happy with that. It might sound weird, but it really gives me a better feeling to ride my bike 30 minutes a day than to take the bus. It feels a little bit more like home. Furthermore I had a great time with my parents. I enjoyed showing them around Paris and to wander around the city with them. Unfortunately at moments like that you also realize that it is a pity that you cannot see them a bit more often. But the good thing about my busy study schedule is that I do not have that much time to be too sad about that. I will just look forward to my break in February in the Netherlands.

Winston Churchill said once ‘A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty’. And that is what I see; an opportunity to broaden my world with a new language, a new way of studying, and a new type of people.

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 13:04

    Roos:

    Lieve Mel wat een mooi verhaal, ik snap dat het moeilijk voor je kan zijn soms, daar helemaal alleen als Dutchie! Maar in elk geval heb je genoeg mensen over de vloer om de taal de blijven spreken lijkt me... :) Je bent een levensechte 'Grenzeloos Verliefd'-e, zei ik laatst tegen iemand, 'zonder telefisieaflevering',toen het over Grenzeloos Verliefd ging. En dat vond ik wel een passende omschrijving... ik vind het superstoer dat je zo ver en zo vastberaden je liefde achterna gaat! :) Hopelijk zal het wennen verder gaan en de taal... tsja. Als arrogante Nederlander kun je toch ook wel zeggen dat je in zekere zin op dat vlak succesvol aan het integreren bent ;) xx

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 15:11

    Emma:

    Lieve Mel, alleereerst wil ik nogmaals benadrukken hoe stoer ik het vind dat je deze stap hebt genomen!! Je zet je eigen gevoelens van frustratie ook zo goed in woorden om, ik voel helemaal met je mee. Maar weet dat je ook daar je kracht in laat zien: erkennen dat iets moeilijk is en er toch voor blijven gaan. En dat vind ik echt onwijs knap :) Zet m op wijffie, kick some french ass (nou ja, doe dat maar niet, maar je begrijpt de strekking van m'n verhaal :P) en geniet van je fietsje :) dikke kus, Em

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 15:32

    Marieke&JJ:

    Fietsen rules! Enneh...
    Laissez sentir les Francais l'odeur de merde! (ehmmm, Babelfish wist hier geen raad mee... DAT kan jij beter...).
    ;-) KISS!

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 17:49

    Raach:

    Lieve Mel,
    Je verhaal raakt me weer opnieuw, mooi Mel; de manier waarop je schrijft en de manier waarop je tegen alles aankijkt. Ik weet niet of ik het na zou kunnen doen! Bij Roos' verhaaltje wil ik ook aansluiten; telkens weer als ik vertel dat één van mijn beste vriendinnen in Parijs woont met haar vriendje dan zie je ze kijken 'Wow kan dat ook in het echt?!' Heel cool, ik ben en blijf trots op je! Dikke kus x

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 18:47

    Soledad:

    Dear Mel,
    Thank you for your long, nice, interesting life story in Paris. Every country has their own culture and attitude. Be yourself and make friends. Friends in your neighborhood are your nearest family there. It was very nice in Paris with you and Phil. Wish you all the best. God Bless! Take care. Hugs and kisses. Keep smiling.

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 19:18

    Suus & Co.:

    Lieve Mellie,

    Hier is ze dan!! Eindelijk METEEN een reactie op je reisverslag ;)
    Reisverslag kun je het niet eens noemen want je bent helemaal niet op reis :P Je hebt ons gewoon allemaal verlaten; je bent gewoon geëmigreerd!!!
    Vet stoer kind! Nog steeds! En ben trotser dan trots op my baby-sis doing her thing!!
    Ik hoop dat we elkaar snel ontmoeten, in Paris welteverstaan!!!
    Hang on babe, je redt het wel! Definitely!!!

    Hele dikke kus,
    Your Big Sis!

  • 19 Oktober 2011 - 19:50

    Wil Van Woerkom:

    Wel wel Mel, dat was weer een fantastisch verhaal. We weten allemaal dat het vaak niet eenvoudig is om alle veranderingen te verwerken. Zeker de dingen, die je zelf graag anders zou zien, kunnen soms frustrerend werken.
    Ik weet zeker, dat jij jezelf wel staande weet te houden en uiteindelijk - zonder dat je jezelf te veel gaat inburgeren - het 'andere gedrag' zal accepteren. Wellicht zul je zelfs ooit eens zeggen: "het valt eigenlijk allemaal wel mee!"
    We hebben intens genoten van ons verblijf bij jullie en weten nu, dat jullie het goed voor elkaar hebben.
    Met name gezellig (uit) eten met elkaar in Franse stijl: magnifique!
    Nogmaals: Merci Beaucoup et Au Revoir!
    'Daddy'

  • 20 Oktober 2011 - 04:09

    Bernadette:

    Mellie!
    Ook vanuit Hollywood ben ik nog steeds erg trots op je! Zet 'm op meid! Ik weet dat je dit kunt! En misschien dat je 't nu nog niet zo ziet, maar uiteindelijk is 't toch juist beter als je 'gedwongen' wordt om Frans te praten? Ach, ik heb ook makkelijk praten... Maar ik heb er ook alle vertrouwen in dat het helemaal goed gaat komen met je taalbarrière!!!
    Veel liefs & dikke kus!

  • 20 Oktober 2011 - 04:35

    Laura:

    Lieve Mellie,

    Wat een mooi verhaal weer! Ook ik ben nog steeds zo trots op je en vind het zo stoer dat je deze stap gezet hebt! Ik kan je frustaties helemaal begrijpen en snap dat het soms niet makkelijk is, maar gelukkig denk je dan aan de wijze woorden van ons pap en Churchill :). En je kan het allemaal; praten in 't frans, je colleges volgen (zowel de taal als de tijd wat 't je kost), je aanpassen aan de franse cultuur en alle andere dingen waar je tegenaan loopt. En dat maakt jou zo bijzonder! Dit doen niet veel mensen je na. Ik hoop dat je je dat ook realiseert als het even tegen zit of als een berg net even te steil is. Maar wat betreft dat laatste zal ik je over 4 weken wat tips geven, zodat je die ook met gemak zal kunnen beklimmen (met fiets en al ;))!

    Heel veel liefs en tot snel!!

  • 20 Oktober 2011 - 09:11

    Marco :

    Wow...it sounds exciting, complicated and beautiful, welcome in sometimes romantic Paris! I love your 'psycho' analysis. And, hey, if you are be able to follow the classes in french, for the most at least, i think your french must be pretty amazing. Anyway like we say in dutch: zet 'm op! Show the Parisienne's what a Dutchie, uit de poklder, can (can) do! Bise.

  • 21 Oktober 2011 - 00:44

    Ise:

    Well, here in México we do not like school but we have to study, even though you probably were born with a job because your father knows someone that knows someone that knows somebody else who has something for you. We do not ride bikes nor donkeys, if you don't have a car you'll probably won't get too far. We have a tequila shot after eating a bunch of tacos (it works, you feel lighter and drunk) We've always have some excuse to party or someone's getting married almost every weekend (that means party too AND for free!) We do not wear big sombreros but as soon as we hear a Mariachi near by we become the most mexican of the mexicans you've ever met. We can dance, most of us, every rhythm as exotic as it sounds. And we are very good AMIGOS.
    PS. once you come, you'll want to stay! VIVA MÉXICO!

  • 22 Oktober 2011 - 09:52

    Rita:

    Hoi Mel weer een leuk verslag maar je moet niet zo mopperen over de taal je doet hetzelfde met ons. Je verslagen zijn in het Engels en wij zijn Nederlanders. Gelukkig dat we ook engels kunnen lezen, wel begrijpelijk hoor van dat engels je bent nl alround
    Maar wat ik zo lees ben je wel gelukkig en daar gaat het om.
    XXX Rita

  • 10 November 2011 - 14:47

    Manon!:

    Knuffel voor jou!! xx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 205
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57344

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: