Rationalize, accept, and enjoy - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Rationalize, accept, and enjoy - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Rationalize, accept, and enjoy

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

21 November 2011 | Frankrijk, Parijs

Don't be afraid to fail. Don't waste energy trying to cover up failure. Learn from your failures and go on to the next challenge. It's OK to fail. If you're not failing, you're not growing. This is once said by an American teacher. And maybe not in the same words but there were more people around me that had to tell me this in the past few weeks. Apparently my fear of failing made me over-stressed and resulted in inefficient working behavior. Which was only increasing my stress; hence, I have had some difficult moments. BUT I have overcome them and I must say that I am feeling pretty good at the moment. It makes me picking up my French again, it makes me like my work again, and it makes me smile again :).

What is one of the best remedies when your stress level is reaching a level that is a little bit too high? That is right; it is to leave your environment and to go somewhere where there are means to relax. So that is what we did. Philippe and I went to Coutainville a couple of weeks ago to enjoy the quietness, the sea, and a bigger house. Because sometimes it is nice to leave your small-city-apartment and to stay in a real house with stairs and everything ;). I did have to work over there but it already felt much better than studying at home.

I really have no reasons to complain because the weekend after Coutainville we spent in Aix-en-Provence. It was lovely to go back to the south and to enjoy another beautiful city. The weather was not great at all but we did have a good weekend with the family of Philippe.

These two weekends of relaxation made me feel a lot better after some heavy outbursts of stress in several forms. It made me rationalize everything a bit more. Because let’s face it; what are the chances that I am not going to make it? Zero. But then there is this fear of failing and not making it in two years. Is that really that bad? THAT bad? Nope. Nobody will die if that will happen and I will just have to spend an extra year as a student.. And I have always said that life as a student is way better than life as a working human being ;). Okay but seriously, I will still do my very best to make it of course. And I will still do my very best to make it in two years. But I seriously had to stop fixating on the Icannotfailandihavetomakeitinparis-thought because that thought was killing me. So I got rid of it. And I feel relieved, relaxed, and my head feels muuuuch lighter ;).

So I am slowly going into the acceptance-phase of change (for the ones that remember me being in ‘shock, denial, and retreat’ for weeeeeks; I have moved on!). And this is making me even happier than I already was (because even with all the difficulties, I was still veeeery happy with Philippe; especially since he supported me all-the-time).

And to celebrate my happiness, I got my third visitors this weekend. Again great ones; my sister Laura, her husband Jarno, and their one-year-old son Bas :D. We had a lot of fun together; I took them to nice places in Paris, including several playgrounds of course ;). And again I realized how great it is to have family around. But unfortunately I also realized again that it is a pity that I cannot see them a bit more often.. So let’s see if the Thalys has special plans for people (students!!) who want to take their train every month ;).














  • 21 November 2011 - 18:24

    Celiiiiiiiiiiiiiine:

    ohh soo cute !!!!!!!! you can do it Mel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 21 November 2011 - 18:48

    Martine:

    Mel! Mooi geschreven. Af en toe een weekendje buiten de drukke stad logeren doet altijd goed;) just a critical distance for yourself! You're the best! X

  • 21 November 2011 - 19:29

    Bernadette:

    Mellie!!!!!!
    Ik ben zo trots op je!!!!
    Keep up doing the good work!!!!
    Love you!!!
    Big hugs & kisses!

  • 21 November 2011 - 19:33

    Laura:

    Mooie tekst weer Mellie! Fijn dat het weer goed met je gaat en fijn dat ik dit ook zelf heb mogen zien :D. We hebben enorm genoten van Parijs, maar nog veel meer van jou en natuurlijk Philippe. Het doet me goed om te zien hoe fijn jullie het hebben. En wij hebben weer wat om naar uit te kijken voor onze volgende vakantie (wie weet wederom Frankrijk of anders Italië ;)). Tot hopelijk heel snel! Dikke kus, ook van Bas en Jarno!

  • 21 November 2011 - 19:53

    Suus & Co.:

    Nou Mellie, wat heftig allemaal hè wijffie!
    Thanx to the Google Translator heb ik het verhaal sneller kunnen lezen en thanx to mom ook kunnen begrijpen ;)
    Al behaal je je studie helemaal niet, ik ben en blijf je trotse zus!!
    Love you sis!!
    Dikke kus,
    Suus & Co.!! (met papegaai tegenwoordig :S)

  • 21 November 2011 - 20:06

    Philippe:

    Schatje!
    Continue like that!!
    Dikste kusjes!!!

  • 21 November 2011 - 22:35

    Manon:

    Je bent een topper lieve Mellie!!!!
    Dikke kus voor jou! xx

  • 23 November 2011 - 06:41

    Ise:

    I just want it to be December 18th already.

  • 01 December 2011 - 15:49

    Rita:

    hoi Mel het gaat gelukkig goed met je. Zoals altijd weer heel goed verslag.
    Goed te lezen dat je weer ontstrest bent. Je komt er wel meis. Leuke foto's vooral van je kleine neefje. Ik zag dat je ook al de kerstboom hebt staan. Geeft een gezellig sfeertje. Op naar het volgend verslag. XXX Rita

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 183
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57340

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: