Back to Happy - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Back to Happy - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Back to Happy

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

24 Februari 2012 | Frankrijk, Parijs

On my 18th I graduated from high school. On my 18th I also got my driver’s license. On my 21st I got accepted into an exchange program to go to the U.S.A. On my 22th I got my Bachelor’s degree. And on my 23rd I got accepted into a master in Paris. Everybody probably had similar experiences which gave you a feeling of ultimate happiness, relief, and excitement. However, I have never felt this way for such a simple thing as one semester. Then again, I have never done a semester in a language in which I was not fluent at all yet. That might explain the feelings I am having regarding the fact that I have passed the first semester of my master!! I had lost faith in myself several times in the past few months and I really thought I had made the stupidest decision ever to start a master in French. But now I am very happy that I did it and moreover, that people around me did keep their faith in me which made me continuing this master.

Wow, such a turbulent time, so many things happened, so many emotions. I have moved to France for my master but also to live with Philippe and to learn a new language. Three things that were high on my wish list and for which I was happy I could fulfill them all at the same time. However, sometimes you should not want too many things at the same time. Or you should not expect to be perfect at everything all at once. Or you should not expect anything at all when you are starting something new and you should just wait and see how everything will turn out. One thing is sure; again, I learned a lot from this being-abroad-experience and I have mostly learned more about myself.

After two weeks in the Netherlands I felt so much better. I both enjoyed the presence of all my good friends and family but at the same time I also missed ‘home’. It is funny, for me it feels like I have two homes now. Would that be possible? I think you can have as many homes as you want. Because home is not where you live but where they understand you. And I think people are slowly starting to understand me in Paris too. At least the people that are close to me.

Paris, such a beautiful and fascinating city. I am happy that I am having some time between the first and the second semester to appreciate this city and this country again. Because when I first arrived here my blogs were way more positive and happy. And I would like to go back to that because happiness feels so much better. Besides the time I have to enjoy Paris again we also spent a weekend with Philippe’s cousins in Lyon. Another beautiful city of France. And before my departure I will visit my good friend Celine in Angers and she will also take me to Nantes. All this to fully enjoy my free time and to spend some good quality time with great friends.

Then, I will be ready for my next adventure. Going to the Università di Bologna in Cesena (Italy) as an exchange student. It will not be my first experience as an exchange student for one semester. I have done this before when I went to Atlanta in the United States. However, this feels completely different. For Atlanta it took me 10 months to prepare while for Cesena I have the feeling I did not prepare anything. For Atlanta it felt like I was leaving for such a long time while for Cesena I have the feeling that I am not leaving for longer than a couple of weeks. For Atlanta I took my time to enjoy my last weeks at home and to say goodbye to everybody while for Cesena I am not even realizing I will already leave in 12 days. Many differences while the main difference is only that Cesena is a bit closer to home. It fascinates me to experience similar things but to have complete different feelings about it.
As I said before, I will be more careful about my expectations this time but nevertheless I am quite excited about it. Before, there were other things on my mind which did not give me any opportunities to look forward to this but right now I am ready for it! I hope I will get the chance to see more of Italy because all I have seen so far is Rome and Naples. Furthermore I can breathe while the courses will be in English but I will try to learn the basics of the Italian language. I will keep you posted about all this in a new series of blogs specially dedicated to Italy.

Au revoir Paris & Buongiorno Italia!

  • 24 Februari 2012 - 12:21

    Laura:

    Hi Mellie,

    Heel fijn dat je je weer zo goed voelt! En echt zo super dat je je 1e semester gehaald hebt!! Op naar het volgende avontuur. Dat wordt een en al genieten in Italië. Ik hoop dat wij je ook nog een bezoekje kunnen brengen, zodat we kunnen zien hoe je het daar hebt. Heel veel succes daar en tot die tijd lekker genieten van je vrije tijd!

    Liefs, Laura (en Jarno & Bas)

  • 24 Februari 2012 - 14:45

    Marieke:

    O.... YOU DID IT!!! Wow zeg, gefeliciteeeeerd. Echt SUPERGOED :-D
    Wees maar heel trots op jezelf!!! X!

  • 24 Februari 2012 - 15:08

    Tiny:

    Hallo lieve Melanie,

    Fantastisch dat je het gehaald hebt, proficiat meid dat moet toch een stuk voldoening geven. En wat vertrouwen in jezelf.
    Bedankt voor je mail, ben blij met dat contact. Blijf je volgen. Veel succes in Italie.
    Liefs en groetjes van Tiny.

  • 25 Februari 2012 - 23:13

    Nicole:

    Gefeliciteerd!! Echt super goed hoor. Op naar het nieuwe avontuur :)
    Ik stuur je snel een langer mailtje terug. Liefs!

  • 26 Februari 2012 - 06:42

    Raach:

    Liefste Mel,
    Op de foto's zie je er weer zo gelukkig uit, ik ben heel blij voor je!! En trots, dat kan je ook op jezelf zijn, je hebt zoveel bereikt. Over Italie moet je volgens mij geen moment stressen, dat lukt vast ook, en zo niet, dan is dat zo. Daar is ook niks ergs aan. Niemand is perfect en maar goed ook denk ik.

    Een hele dikke kus van mij! X

  • 26 Februari 2012 - 22:02

    Soledad:

    My dearest Mel,
    I am happy for you and of course very proud for what you are doing for your life.Keep going on what is right and always think positive and practical. I know you will fullfil your dream. Going to Italy is much easier for you now because you have already experience studying in other country like Atlanta Georgia.Thank you for your nice and interesting story. Family and friends are with you always. Good luck in Italy. Take care. Love you. Hugs and kisses. God Bless!

  • 27 Februari 2012 - 09:17

    Rita:

    Hoi Mel weer een reisverslag zoals we van je gewend zijn en inderdaad weer positief zoals je bent. Het was ook weer fijn om je weer even te zien.
    XXX Rita

  • 27 Februari 2012 - 19:11

    Celine:

    ohh yeahh !!! i'm waiting for you !!!! soon soon soon !!!!

  • 15 Maart 2012 - 15:23

    Ise:

    Oh, this is new. I was a little behind on your posts haha.

    Let me see the one before.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 239
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57346

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: