Nothing feels like home - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Nothing feels like home - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Nothing feels like home

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

06 Mei 2012 | Italië, Cesena

Do I take a coffee or a tea? Do I use this bag or the other one? Do I read this book or that one? Decisions: not always that easy to make. In the USA I would never go home during one semester in order to fully enjoy my time in that country. At the same time, I did not have a boyfriend back then, let alone that I was living with one. In Italy it is different. Actually I just went home. I spent a week in Paris with Philippe. When I have some free time during my master there are two options: I either stay in Italy to enjoy this country or I go home to enjoy my relationship. In general I have enjoyed my Italian life very much already. But this time I really felt like going home, being home, and enjoying home.

It has never felt so good to be home. I did not realize how much I had missed our own apartment, the smell of the building, our stuff. I really enjoyed being home again. Somehow I started to appreciate my life in Paris more while I was in Italy. There are many French things that I missed, like my daily bread and cheese, our supermarket, our French breakfast, and even the Parisian subway. And secretly I even missed to speak French and to hear all the people around me speaking it. So it was great to enjoy all these things again, together with Philippe (and his family). Now my battery is charged to enjoy Italy again, while I will finish my first course this month.

Studying abroad is amazing and I definitely recommend this to everybody. But studying abroad for three times might be a little bit too much. Well, especially when you started to settle down in the meantime. So after this I will go back to Paris and I will not move for a while.

Besides my trip back home I also visited some friends in Barcelona. We are in the same master program in Paris and while I am studying this semester in Cesena they are studying in Barcelona. It was great to see my friends again and I liked the city very much. It has all the great things that my favorite cities Amsterdam, Paris, and New York have, but on top of that it even has a beach. Three great days, with great friends, in a great city.

Now it is time to study a little bit more than usual because the exam is coming up to finish the course. It has been two months already since I am in Italy. Time flies. So I will try to keep that in mind whenever I am getting a little bit homesick again. Because this long distance relationship is harder than I thought it would be, and it is nothing like our previous long distance. But we are almost halfway and I will get busier so I am very optimistic. We are going to do it. See you later Paris, I will be back.

  • 06 Mei 2012 - 19:34

    Emma:

    Fijn te horen dat alles zo goed gaat Mel, ik vind het nog altijd zo bijzonder wat jij allemaal doet, echt waar! Geniet van alles om je heen jij kleine wereldreiziger! dikke kus, Em

    p.s. Succes met je examens ;)

  • 06 Mei 2012 - 19:38

    Wil Van Woerkom:

    Dear Mel,

    How good to hear/read your story! Look back and read some of your former blogs and see how things are developing! It's great girl! Keep on going!
    You can do it and nobody will ever take away all your experiences! Don't you forget this and carry all these precious moments in your heart!
    Enjoy your life and we wish you good luck this coming weeks in your study.

    Your dad.

  • 07 Mei 2012 - 06:55

    Marieke:

    Wie had DAT gedacht... Heimwee naar Parijs! :-) Brengen die maanden in Italie je toch wat kostbaars... een thuisgevoel in Parijs. Hoe raar kan het lopen! Geniet nog maar van de laatste twee maanden heimweegevoel ;-)
    XX Marieke

  • 07 Mei 2012 - 07:48

    Suzy:

    Hi sissy!

    Eindelijk weer een reactie van je oudste zus ;) In het Nederlands uiteraard :p
    Mooi verhaal weer hoor en mooi om te lezen hoe jij je iedere keer bewust wordt van alles!
    Fijn dat je het zo ontzettend fijn hebt gehad thuis. Alles in het leven heeft een reden hè kind ;)
    Succes nog even in Italië en succes met je examens!!

    Dikke kus,
    Suus, Jeremiah & Aaliyah!

  • 07 Mei 2012 - 11:31

    Manon:

    Wow Mel, heimwee naar Parijs, dat had je je een paar maanden geleden toch niet kunnen voorstellen.. Maar een goed teken is het zeker! Fijn dat je even lekker hebt kunnen genieten in Barcelona en je leventje in Parijs, en nu weer vol energie er tegenaan kunt in Italie! You go girl!

    Kus! x

  • 07 Mei 2012 - 17:39

    Nihayra:

    Hey Mel!

    Je ziet er goed uit! Je krijgt heel veel nieuwe ervaringen erbij...leuk om te lezen. Ook mooi om te lezen hoe je alles toch zo bewust ervaart. Geniet ervan!


  • 07 Mei 2012 - 19:49

    Bernadette:

    Mellie!!!
    Heerlijk verhaal weer! Fijn dat je zowel van je tijd in Italië geniet als de tijd dat je weer thuis bent! Goed teken dacht ik zo! En in de tussentijd geniet je volop van al je tussendoor tripjes! As I speak zit je gewoon te genieten op Sicilië! Lekker warm daar hè?! En volgende week mag ik mee!!! Yeah! Op naar Veronaaaaaaa! Zóveel zin in! Heerlijk om weer een paar dagen met mn zussie samen te zijn!
    Blijf genieten, voor je het weet ben je weer lekker thuis bij je grote liefde!
    En goed studeren de komende 2 weken!!!
    Tot volgende week :)
    (love to say that!!!)
    Dikke kusssss

  • 08 Mei 2012 - 11:01

    Rita:

    Het klinkt allemaal gezellig maar ik denk dat je ook wel hard moet studeren. Toch weer een leuk verslag.
    XXX Rita

  • 08 Mei 2012 - 17:25

    Philippe:

    Cutie,
    It was so good to have you here... and it feels so good to read this blog!
    Oh sorry, in French ;)
    Profite de la Sicile ! A trèèès bientôt à Rome !
    Hele dikke kus!

    Philippe

  • 14 Mei 2012 - 19:51

    Laura:

    Hi Mellie,

    Wat goed te horen dat je je zo thuis voelt in Parijs, in jullie appartementje, met je vriendje :). Zo zie je maar weer, dat het beseffen wat je hebt en dus mist als je het even niet hebt, tijd nodig heeft. Nog even, en dan ga je weer terug naar dat wat je mist….. home sweet home!

    xxx Laura

  • 15 Mei 2012 - 14:02

    Ise:

    Ohhhh... L'amour, l'amour.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 425
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57352

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: