The end of another era - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu The end of another era - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

The end of another era

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

14 Juli 2012 | Italië, Cesena

In life you are going to go far and if you do it right you will love where you are. I guess I did it right again! This being my third experience abroad I have discovered that every experience is different. At some point I even regretted that I went abroad for a third time but eventually I am very happy that I got to do this. It is fascinating that every experience, every environment, and every population around you might be different, but you can still have the same kind of feelings in certain situations. No matter in what country you are, when you do not speak their native language and especially when the people look a bit different from you, you always have that same kind of feeling of being abroad. Both times when I studied only one semester abroad, I always had this exciting feeling when I was walking in the streets. This happy feeling of ‘I cannot believe that I am temporarily living here’. And both times, I felt very weird, very sad, and very confused during the last days living there. And I just find it funny that I am feeling quite the same right now as I felt two and a half years ago when I had to leave Atlanta. I expected to be less sad this time because I am very happy that I will live with Philippe again but apparently it does not matter what and who is waiting for you at home. Whenever you got used to a certain life-style in a certain place with certain friends it is never easy to say goodbye to all that.

Despite a few less happy moments I have had a great time here in Italy and I can honestly say that I love this place. I have spent an amazing four months here. From interesting and fun classes to many city trips, to delicious food, and to making amazing new friends again. When you put all those things together, you will get one great semester! I am very happy with the friends that I got to meet here. We created some great memories all together here in Italy. I would like to highlight the awesome trips I made to Sicily, Bologna, San Marino and Florence with my friends. Besides the trips we have had great times in Cesena too; having drinks at this ‘garden-chiosco’ or going out for ice creams or pizzas. It is amazing how close you can get to total strangers when you get to spend a few months together in the same master program in a small town called Cesena.

I am glad that I got to know new cultures again. And I am very happy with the special friendships that I made here. Jem brought me closer to my mother’s culture, Carolina was a great support, especially during the harder moments of the semester, and Katia & Sandra brought me closer to the French culture. These girls helped me to get ready to go back to France with their amazing cooking skills, their hospitality, and all the great things that they shared with me. They taught me a lot of things about their French culture, especially ‘girly things’ that I am not learning from Philippe ;).

Whenever I was not spending time with my friends here, I was spending time with either Philippe or my family. I was very lucky this semester to have a few romantic weekends with Phil in Bologna, Venice, and in Rome. Those weekends were amazing. And I was also very lucky that my sister, her boyfriend, and my parents came to visit me. It is always great to have your family around you, especially when you are not seeing them on a daily basis anymore. I have had great times with them in Verona, Milan, Bologna, Rimini, and in the mountains.

I think you are all getting the message; I have had another amazing experience abroad here in Italy. It was a perfect semester; starting with many trips to see the beauty of Italy and ending with quite some days at the beach to enjoy the Adriatic Sea and the sun. I felt very welcome thanks to all the friendly Italians. I have gained a little bit of weight thanks to the delicious pizzas, pastas, and ice creams. I have experienced my first real natural disaster caused by several earthquakes :(. I have learned a tiny little bit of the Italian language. I have discovered something delicious that is called a piadina. I also fell in love with eggplants (in my pasta, on my pizza, I love them!). I have spent a lot of my time in the Italian trains and they repeat something about the linea gialla over and over again through the intercoms at the stations.. (you are supposed to stay behind them I guess:P). And most importantly: I have experienced another student life in another country.

I want to thank everyone who have made this an unforgettable semester.
I hope to see you all again, someday, wherever!

Ciao Ragazzi!

  • 13 Juli 2012 - 23:11

    Bernadette:

    Mellie!!!

    What's a piadina?
    I'm happy to read that after all, your trip to Italy was awesome! And again, you made some new, great friends! Don't be too sad that you have to say goodbye to them. See it positive: you have nice places to go and visit your friends all over the world! Not everyone can say that.
    And most important, you really enjoyed your fantastic experience in such a lovely country with fabulous food and no one can take that ever away from you! Maybe best part of this trip, compared to your other trip abroad, is that you go back home to Philippe! (and less warm weather :P )

    Ok girly, wish you a good flight and enjoy your summer vacation!

    Big kisssss

  • 14 Juli 2012 - 10:13

    Emma:

    Kanjer!

  • 14 Juli 2012 - 11:29

    Wil Van Woerkom:

    Mel,

    Wow, how much I agree! It has been wonderful despite (or because of?) the high temperatures. Thanks again a lot for your entertainment.
    See you agian in Paris in a fortnight!

    Your dad

  • 14 Juli 2012 - 13:02

    Philippe:

    I am only jealous of the piadina :P
    Welcome back!

  • 16 Juli 2012 - 10:08

    Marieke:

    Goed hoor! Dat je (er) weer (voor) bent gegaan!! En fijn dat het zo tof was. XXX

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 260
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57362

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: