It was a phase - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu It was a phase - Reisverslag uit Cesena, Italië van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

It was a phase

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

10 Juni 2012 | Italië, Cesena

In my life, I always felt like I was moving from one phase to another. You know, from primary school to high school. From your life in your hometown while living with your parents to your life in the big city. From this group of friends to another group of friends. Everyone that you have met and that you are going to meet will hear a different story about your life. Because in each phase there are different things that you are focusing on. Usually you switch smoothly from one phase to another but sometimes it can go pretty rigidly. And when that happens it is amazing how fast you tend to forget about your previous phase. And when that previous phase was quite big and important for you it can create some sad moments when you are thinking about those times but there is no one around to share it with because they simply do not know anything about it. It is not even a year ago when I was still working as a dental nurse. And e-ve-ry-bo-dy that knew me at that time knew how important teeth were for me. I think I was often associated with teeth, tooth brushes, dental floss, and dentists. Most of the people I am seeing daily right now do not have a clue about this. I obviously closed that chapter because I am not making any efforts to share this phase of my life with anybody. But when I am taking a moment to think back about all the years I spent to get into dental school and all the good times I had working as a dental nurse with great dentists and fellow nurses, it is hard to believe that I have been there and that I (probably?) will never go back there.

I am not sad about not being a dental nurse anymore. Neither am I sad about not becoming a dentist. Because I think everybody agrees with me if I would say that everything in my life turned out pretty well despite the big disappointments of being rejected for dental school over and over again. Sometimes I just feel a little bit lost in the stories of my life. And sometimes I feel a little bit lonely when I want to share things with people that are 800 miles away. No email or skype call can fix that.

But no worries! This only happens every now and then and since my life is pretty damn good at the moment it never lasts that long. I guess I am just in this phase where I am over thinking my life a lot. And in which I am discovering all these things about myself. And in which I am experiencing new things over and over again. Like earthquakes.. It was quite an experience to feel this for the first time a couple of weeks ago. But now it does not only seem like there are quakes every day but even more times a day. They are very small and usually nobody feels them but I seem to be quite sensitive/paranoid. Most of the times when I thought I was feeling something I turned out to be right but sometimes it was just a paranoid feeling. Every time my heartbeat rises a little bit—what usually happens when I am getting scared of an upcoming quake—I have the feeling I am moving a bit. Which results in a funny vicious circle and this can keep me busy for a while. So I guess I will shake myself to the end of the semester.. While I am focusing on my last duty for this year; my thesis. We finished the second and very interesting course about work-life balance this week. All the articles that proved how hard it is to find a balance between your work roles and your family roles freaked me out a tiny little bit but eventually I learned a lot in two weeks and I am excited to use this knowledge in my further (professional) life. I am slowly getting ready for the next phase of my life.

  • 10 Juni 2012 - 07:43

    Wil Van Woerkom:

    Great story Mel!
    And don't you worry about being a bit confused sometimes about those different phases of your life. Having to say goodbye to some old friends and say hello to new ones does sometimes hurt. Everybody is encountering these feelings.
    Melanie Safka - the singer you are named after - puts it this way:
    "And the saddest song under the sun above
    is to say goodbye to the ones you loved..
    But I will not weep nor make a scene
    just say thank you life for having been"
    And this is so true!
    I am happy, that you are able to experience life this way. Keep on going girl!
    Your dad.

  • 10 Juni 2012 - 07:44

    Soledad:

    My dear sweet, lovely youngest daughter, I am very proud of you! Ijust read your interesting story again. That's LIFE. I can imagine how you feel that you couldn't study dentical which is your dream, important now is that you are happy with your friends around (Philippe) and of course mastering your psychology. When I was young I did experienced the earthquake once in my life in The Philippines. I wish YOU all the BEST always and forever. God Bless!!! Take care. Love you. Hug and kisses.

  • 10 Juni 2012 - 09:23

    Bernadette:

    Another great story about your life! Love to read it! (maybe you can write a book about your interesting life ;) Though it made me a little bit sad for a moment... But I know you'll have many more UPS than downs, so I 'm not gonna worrry that much about you :)
    Wish you good luck with your thesis and this phase of your life! And though it might not help you a lot, if you wanna talk to/teach someone about teeth, you can always call me ;)
    Love you!
    Big hugs & kissessssss

  • 10 Juni 2012 - 17:15

    Raach:

    Liefie, weer een mooie tekst. Mis je en dan wel echt. Zou zo graag al die veranderingen die wij in onze levens ondergaan in het echt willen uitwisselen. Zag vandaag meisjes aan de high tea zitten in de Bakkerswinkel en toen dacht ik aan ons: dat moeten wij ook weer doen! Augustus, het staat er hoor! Dikke kus van mij xxxx

  • 11 Juni 2012 - 12:26

    Celiiiinneee:

    so nice to read, Little Tooth !
    I hope you'll find a balance when you'll be back in Paris soon soon soon... :)

  • 11 Juni 2012 - 14:27

    Nihayra:

    <3

  • 12 Juni 2012 - 19:41

    Ise:

    Oh my God, you and teeth! The crazy roommate that brushed her teeth for like, half an hour! haha

    But wait, that's not the most important thing. I totally forgot you where in Italy when the earthquake! How does it feel? Did it rock you world? hahaha

    And about not becoming a dentist, well.. life has something bigger for you than mouths 7/24 haha.. and still have pretty good teeth.

    XO :)

  • 24 Juni 2012 - 14:12

    Rita:

    een beetje laat maar toch gelezen. Ik zat een beetje in die belangrijke fase van je leven waar je over schreef. Ik voelde heel erg met je mee wanneer je weer afgewezen werd. Maar je bent er goed door heen gerold. Het is maar goed dat je die fase hebt meegemaakt dat maakt je zoals je nu bent. Groetjes Rita.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 196
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57351

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: