Why worry? - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Why worry? - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Why worry?

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

23 November 2012 | Frankrijk, Parijs

Dear France, are you ever going to accept this Dutchie in your community? After all the efforts that I have made to integrate into your student world, into your supermarkets and bakeries, into your capital city, you are giving me another hard time to get integrated into your big adult world of the working grown-ups. I do feel really good at the moment because I love my life for now. My studies are going well and I finally feel good between all the French students. Between all the French people actually. However, I do have to start an internship in three months and since I started to look for that I am slowly freaking out about my life here in France again. This is a pity because I am really looking forward to start my career in the amazing field of organizational psychology but somehow I do not really see it happening here in France. Because first of all, I do not feel completely professional when I still make little mistakes in my French. Second, I do not have any work experience in this field which is kind of necessary for a second-year master student here. Fortunately I do have great people around me who are trying to convince me that it is not completely impossible. I just need to find the right company with a super nice HR team that is willing to take the risk to hire this little Dutchie. If that team happens to be reading this blog; I can assure you guys that I will give you my 200% because I am going to love any job that I am applying for and I might be one of the most enthusiastic applicants that you will get in front of you. Maybe you will just not see that because of some possible nervousness ;). Pfff… If only life was as easy as this where recruiters are reading random blogs on the web... ;).

But hey, like my good friend Jason Mraz would say: ‘I will not waste my days making up all kinds of ways to worry about all the things that will not happen to me’. This guy is not only writing very inspiring songs, he is also a great singer, and a wonderful musician. And I was lucky to get to see his concert this month in Paris. It was an amazing show with ten great musicians, the atmosphere on stage felt good and even non-musical part of the show was impressive.

So well, I might be a bit too busy these days to enjoy my free time but at least I got to see and hear Jason! For now I will go back to my work and I hope I can get back to you all at least once before the holidays..

  • 23 November 2012 - 13:14

    Dad:

    Mel,

    Don't worry indeed! Since there's a crisis going on, even for 'normal' applicants it's hard to find a job nowadays. You have however some advantages:
    1. you are young
    2. you are enthusiastic (as you already said yourself)
    3. you are not asking too much (do you? ;) )
    4. people in some companies will be anxious to know who's that Dutchie?
    5. some other people will know that the Dutch are very ambitious and have a good working standard!

    So: enough reasons to be optimistic; you will make it girl!

    Your 'vader'

  • 23 November 2012 - 22:40

    Bernadette:

    6. You are cheap comparing to a non-student ;)

    Good luck with finding a good company where you can learn a lot during your internship!
    And fortunately, besides studying you have time to relax and to have joy with your friends and eating turkey and pumpkin pie at a Thanksgiving dinner! How cool is that!

    Big kisss

  • 25 November 2012 - 11:09

    Soledad:

    Hi Mel, I hope you get what you want. Believe in yourself and keep hoping. Look around and youwill find what you are searching. Ask Mr. Google to search job for you. ;-) Good luck my sweet girl !!!

  • 05 December 2012 - 09:10

    Manon:

    Ik snap dat het heel erg frustrerend voor je is, maar niet opgeven hoor mellie! Je bent al zo ver gekomen, en je hebt je overal super goed doorheen geslagen. Ik weet zeker dat dat ook nu weer zal gebeuren. Het duurt misschien allemaal wat langer, maar jij hebt weer zo veel andere ervaringen die velen niet hebben. En de aanhouder wint!!

    Succes mel!!

    Kuss x Manon

  • 06 December 2012 - 16:39

    Margit:

    Mel!! Wat heb je weer een mooie blog geschreven!!!! Het komt wel goed schatje ;)
    I LOVE YOU XXXX

  • 09 December 2012 - 11:28

    Marieke&JJ:

    Oei... Veeeeeel succes!!!! You rule, bikkeltje! :-D XXX

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 276
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57362

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: