Let's talk - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu Let's talk - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Melanie Woerkom - WaarBenJij.nu

Let's talk

Door: Melanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melanie

20 December 2012 | Frankrijk, Parijs

It is cold outside, the candles are burning inside, and I am looking for my beach towel and bikini! In life, we never know where we are going. And that is what makes life so great! Sometimes we should really take a moment to stand still and to realize where we are, right now. I bet that many people would agree with the following: ‘five years ago I would never have thought to be here, right now’. Right here, right now for me is an apartment together with Phil, packing our suitcases to celebrate the Holidays with his family in Martinique. I am a pretty happy girl!

Speaking about happiness, it is all over the place here. I have discovered what I did wrong last year; I did not talk. To nobody. I was too shy, too insecure, and too afraid that nobody would understand my non-fluent French. Mais il faut parler! Because eventually it turns out that if you do not speak to the French, they do not speak to you either. And this gave me a very lonely feeling and a negative image of the people around me. But fortunately we all got a second chance this year; I started talking to people and people are talking to me now! And it turns out that everybody is incredibly nice and very helpful. I really thought that France was just not that welcoming towards foreigners but that is not true at all. You just need to speak French to them and then you will end up having a great time with the Frenchies!

And with this attitude I am wrapping up this year of 2012. This was a year in which I got another year older, maybe a bit wiser too this time. A year in which I got to know the great culture of the Italians and in which I really got integrated into my new Frenchie culture. A year in which I was lucky enough to meet another great bunch of international friends and a year in which I realized all over again how lucky I am to have some very precious friends back home in the land of the Dutch. A year in which I got to make awesome travels to some beautiful places on this earth, like Morocco and Copenhagen, and a year in which I went sailing for the first time in my life. In short, a great year! Now, I am ready for 2013!

Happy Holidays everybody, enjoy them with your loved ones!
And I wish you all a wonderful new year in which I hope you will still follow my blogs!

  • 20 December 2012 - 21:03

    Ton Père!:

    I really wish the same to you Mel!
    Have a wonderful time with your French beloved-ones!
    Have a nice Birthday party in Martinique; let it be a: once-in-a-lifetime wonderful experience!
    Enjoy the Christmas and New Years celebrationsv too.
    And of course we wish you and your family over there all the best for this coming year.
    Best regards to everyone (allthough we did not meet most of them yet.......)

    Your dad

  • 21 December 2012 - 16:58

    Nicole:

    Jij ook een hele fijne vakantie toegewenst!! Veel plezier in Martinique op het strand :) En alvast een fijne verjaardag natuurlijk. xx

  • 02 Januari 2013 - 09:45

    Rita:

    Je hebt dus weer veel gezien het afgelopen jaar.
    De beste wensen, ook voor Phil, in 2013.
    XXX Rita

  • 06 Januari 2013 - 11:14

    Soledad:

    Wishing you all the best in 2013 my dear sweet Mel. Happy to read your positve story. I knew someday you will feel at home in the country where your love lives. Keep friendly with people around you to feel happy. Friends are also part of the family. I am home from Florida. 2 weeks in Florida with my relatives was great!

    Hugs and kisses,
    momie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melanie

Actief sinds 18 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 302
Totaal aantal bezoekers 57362

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Juli 2012 - 31 Augustus 2013

Paris - Master Part II

07 Maart 2012 - 14 Juli 2012

Semester in Cesena

24 Juli 2011 - 07 Maart 2012

Master in Paris

18 Augustus 2009 - 28 December 2009

Studying in the USA

Landen bezocht: